Hervé Hélias succeeds Philippe Castagnac as Chairman of Mazars

20 December 2018 Consultancy.org 3 min. read
More news on

International accounting and consulting firm Mazars has appointed Hervé Hélias as the firm’s new Chairman. The Frenchman, who currently serves as Chief Executive Officer, succeeds Philippe Castagnac, who has held the Chairman role for the past seven years.

Commenting on his successor, Castagnac, who himself served as CEO of the group from 2011 to 2016, said “We are delighted that Hervé has taken on the role in this exciting period of growth for the firm. I am confident that he will be successful in driving the Mazars to its next level, building on our heritage of independence, long-term vision and excellence.” 

Founded in 1940 in France, Mazars is one of the globe’s fifteen largest audit and accounting firms. The company, which also supports clients with tax, consulting and financial advisory services, currently employs around 23,000 professionals in 80+ countries. 

In just its third transition of leadership since its inception, Hélias has been tasked with overseeing the firm’s growth and globalisation strategy. He follows in the footsteps of founder Robert Mazars, who established the firm as a national player in France, Patrick de Cambourg, who transformed Mazars into a pan-European player, and Philippe Castagnac, who led the firm’s expansion across North and South America, Asia, Africa and Oceania.Hervé Hélias, Philippe Castagnac, MazarsHélias brings more than thirty years of experience in auditing and consulting to the position. After leading the accounts for some of Mazars’ largest clients, including BNP Paribas, he held the position of Managing Partner of Mazars in France and of co-CEO of the group since 2012, before ascending to the CEO role in 2016.

Commenting on his vision going forward, Hélias said “Mazars will continue to innovate daily to integrate analytical and digital capabilities, cultivating a multidisciplinary and balanced model, sustained by integration and inclusion. We will continue to create new functions enabled by technology while maintaining close relationships and great attention to deliver high quality to our customers.”

Reflecting on challenges in the firm’s landscape – in particular audit work is facing scrutiny from regulators and disgruntled clients – Hélias argued that "the industry suffers from unprecedented mistrust and it is our collective mission to ensure that confidence in the industry remains intact. As a global entity and reflective of our business for good vision, our contribution will be to ensure that all our stakeholders benefit from our modern practices, independent perspective and value-driven culture.”

As part of his new role, Hélias will serve as Chairman of Mazars’ Group Executive Board, which consists of seven other members: Antonio Bover, Rudi Lang, Christoph Regierer, Wenxian Shi, Ton Tuinier, Phil Verity, and Victor Wahba. The leadership team is responsible for the operational management and oversight of the partnership, and will remain in office until December 2020.

Related: Global EY Chairman Mark Weinberger to retire in 2019.